Self Love Journey

This week I was pondering what to share when I found this new podcast to listen to, it’s called Bold New Mom. Jody Moore started a blog then moved to podcasts, which I love. I typically love to listen to something as I fold laundry, dishes, etc. I don’t sit down a lot and if I do I crochet, I always have a project. The first podcast is entitled Being Bold is Being Confident. Something I took from it is, do I know myself? If I am self-aware then how much do I love myself? Or at least accept who I am? She gives a few tools to help you discover yourself so I highly suggest listening to the podcast to discover what those are and start the  journey to learn about you.

**SIDENOTE: I listen to podcasts on my android through an app called Stitcher. I know if you have apple you can get it through iTunes or just listen to it on your computer.

As I was listening to her words I thought to myself, ” Well, how would I describe who I am?” The first thing that came to my mind was that I crochet, which then made me laugh because that’s something I can do well but not part of my personality. What qualities do I have? I then made a short list in my mind that I’m resourceful, patient, responsible and I realized I should take the time to really know myself better. I can say I love my life and that I like who I am but I’m not sure if I’m ‘best friends’ with myself, that I know myself well. Which lead me to thinking, ” how can I know myself better?”

Can anyone guess where I ended up looking for resources? I feel like Pinterest is my google. I found this awesome list of “26 questions to help you know yourself better“, follow the link and I’d suggest taking a few moments in the morning or before bedtime (whenever your quiet time is) to write out the answers.

I also came about this blog post, “Must Haves for a Year of Self-Love”.  This article made me ponder what a great goal this would be for this year! It’s still January for those who haven’t yet made a goal this would be perfect, just spending the year learning to love yourself. In this blog post Sarah, also gives a printable which will be handy to use when you’re not sure of where to begin your self-love journey.

Something that I read on several blogs about self-care is that it should be intentional, making it happen daily. I don’t do this. As I was reading all of them I realized I only seem to do self-care when I’m exceptionally upset or stressed. I then questioned myself, “Would I get stressed less or upset less if I took the time to take care of myself more daily?” I do the basics, I eat well, make sure I get enough sleep, but what about journaling more often? Being intentional with a walk to myself? I think it could make a difference. I’ll be honest to you though and say that I probably won’t put a plan in action right away.

I am going to commit to answering those 26 questions when I journal this week. For me this is a good first step, I may even split up the questions and over the course of a month answer them all. I share this because I feel as if most people reading would say to themselves, “That seems like so much work, I don’t have time for that!” The point is to take baby steps and do something, if we’re not stepping forward then we are only going backwards.

If you want to follow my board on Pinterest called ‘Taking Care of Me’, I do pin a lot of things there to try and do for myself that I’d love to share. I’m a huge fan of using others’ genius ideas because why should I reinvent the wheel? I’ll share a few more links at the bottom here of resources that may help with your self love journey.

What are some things you do to show yourself that you love yourself daily? Share in the comments below, I would love some new ideas!

 

 

60 deep questions to ask yourself (for the ambitious people out there)

100 things to do for Improved Self Care (idea list here!)

50 songs about Self Love (For those who work better with music, this blog has a ton of info on self love, don’t forget to sign up for her freebies)

A self love reading list (maybe someone should start a book club for this, I would totally join!)

Leave a Reply

